The Stockholm Prize in Criminology

  1. You are here:
  2. Start
  3. Stockholm University
  4. About Us
  5. Prizes & Awards
  6. The Stockholm Prize in Criminology


Richard E. Tremblay

2017 winner of The Stockholm Prize in Criminology

How can modern society prevent male violence? Shining the spotlight on what a multi-disciplinary “renaissance scholar” has discovered about parenting, biology, schools and crime prevention through age 24.

prize logo thumb

What is The Stockholm Prize in Criminology?

The Stockholm Prize in Criminology is a prestigious international award that aims to highlight the work of researchers who contribute to significant developments in criminological research. The prize will be awarded at a ceremony in Stockholm City Hall, in conjunction with The Stockholm Criminology Symposium in June next year.

The Golden Hall

Prize Ceremony

The prize was presented for the first time in June 2006 at the City Hall in Stockholm. The prize ceremony is held in conjunction with the Stockholm Criminology Symposium.


The nomination period for the 2017 award is now finished. Nomination period for the 2018 award will open at February 15th 2017.


David Assadkhan, Prize Office, Stockholm University


Sara Jilmstad, Symposium Office


Jerzy Sarnecki, co-chairman

Lawrence W. Sherman, co-chairman