The final step upon completing your studies is to apply for a degree. Regardless of whether your degree is at the bachelor, master or doctoral level, it serves as a certification of your knowledge and the skills you have obtained in your studies. A degree in physics opens up a world of possibilities - demand for physicists exists in all sectors of the labor market.

Installations- och promotionshögtid i Stockholms Stadshus 27 september 2019. Rektor Astrid Söderberg
Inauguration of new professors and conferment of doctoral degrees in Stockholm City Hall. Photo: Ingmarie Andersson/Stockholms universitet


To be awarded a certain degree, you must meet the requirements for that degree. These exist on both national and local levels.

Degrees are divided into three levels: undergraduate level (bachelor's degree), advanced level (master's degree) and doctoral level (licentiate and doctoral degrees). Information about the general requirements for degrees can be found on the central university web pages.

To obtain your degree, three general requirements that must always be met:

  1. you must have completed a certain number of higher education credits
  2. enough of those credits must be within a specific subject, the so-called main subject
  3. you must have completed a degree project.

All degrees in physics have additional requirements, such as certain mandatory courses. A description for each degree can be found on the central university web pages (Swedish only).  If you have questions about degrees, please contact the academic advisor or programme coordinators.

You apply for a degree by signing in to your university account at Ladok.


Master's degree

By following one of our master's programmes, you can get a master's degree in physics. It corresponds to two years of full-time studies, including a degree project of at least 30 credits. 

For a master's degree, studies of a total of 120 credits are required, of which at least 60 credits in the main subject (including a degree project of 30-60 credits). In addition, a previous bachelor's degree of 180 credits is required. At the Department of Physics, you can obtain a master's degree in four different main areas: physics, computational physics, medical radiation physics and theoretical physics.

In the degree description, you can see the specific requirements for each main subject. By following one of our master's programmes, you automatically meet the requirements after two years of studies.

Read more about master's programmes at the Department of Physics:

Master's Programme in Physics

Master's Programme in Computational Physics

Master's Programme in Theoretical Physics

Masters's Programme in Medical Radiation Physics



Doctoral level degrees

The completion of a postgraduate education results in a PhD or doctor's degree. The postgraduate studies consists of both courses and a thesis from a research project. A PhD corresponds to 240 credits, of which 60 credits are courses, and is completed by a public defence of the thesis. A licentiate degree corresponds to 120 credits, of which 30 credits are courses, and is an obligatory step towards the PhD.

Read more about the postgraduate education at the Department of Physics

On this page