Contact

Here you can find contact information to our academic members of staff including researchers, research- and teaching assistants and PhD students.

 

Academic members of staff

 

Göran Ahrne, Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Research interests: Social relationships, bonded actions, social and organizational change, globalization, meta- organizations, partial organization, love and friendship, kinship

Email: goran.ahrne@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Göran Ahrne


Gunnar Andersson, Professor of Demography

Research interests: Demography, fertility, mortality, migration, family formation, register-based research, generations and gender, Nordic countries, Sweden

Email: gunnar.andersson@sociology.su.se 

See webpage for Gunnar Andersson

 

Siddartha Aradhya, Researcher

Email: siddartha.aradhya@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Siddartha Aradhya

 

Kieron Barclay, Docent, Researcher

Research interests: Family demography, fertility, mortality, health, status attainment

Email: kieron.barclay@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Kieron Barclay


Vanessa Barker, Professor of Sociology

Research interests: Borders and migration, sociology of punishment, political sociology, historical sociology, civil society and social movements, nordic and US contexts, cultural sociology, postcolonialism and critical race theory 

E-mail: vanessa.barker@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Vanessa Barker


Tim Bartley, Senior Lecturer in Sociology

Research interests: Organizations, economic sociology, political sociology, global and transnational sociology, environment, labor, corporate responsibility

Email: tim.bartley@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Tim Bartley


Karin Bergmark, Professor Emerita of Sociology

Email: karin.bergmark@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Karin Bergmark


Eva Bernhardt, Professor Emerita of Demography

Research interests: Family demography

Email: eva.bernhardt@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Eva Bernhardt


Sunnee Billingsley, Docent, Senior lecturer

Research interests: Social policies, social mobility, fertility, mortality, health, family dynamics, economic context

Email: sunnee.billingsley@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Sunnee Billingsley

 

Gitte Blomgren, Lecturer

Email: gitte.blomgren@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Gitte Blomgren


Maria Brandén, Docent, Researcher

Email: maria.branden@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Maria Brandén


Magnus Bygren, Professor of Sociology

Research interests: Inequality, segregation, causal inference, quantitative methods, intersectional theory

Email: magnus.bygren@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Magnus Bygren

Eero Carroll, Docent, Lecturer

See webpage for Eero Carroll

Email: eero.carroll@sociology.su.se


Chiara Comolli, Researcher

Research interests: Family dynamics, fertility behaviour, fertility intentions, economic uncertainty, inequality, wellbeing, life course studies, quantitative methods, causal inference, longitudinal data

Email: chiara.comolli@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Chiara Comolli


Johan Dahlberg, Researcher

Research interests: Fertility, timing of birth, birth seasonality, education and fertility, social background and fertility
Email: johan.dahlberg@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Johan Dahlberg


James Dennison, Researcher

Research interests: European electoral politics, the politics of migration, political attitudes and behaviour, the radical right, green politics

Email: james.dennison@sociology.su.se

See webpage for James Dennison


Sven Drefahl, Docent, Senior lecturer

Research interests: Longevity, life expectancy, mortality, determinants of mortality, global trends in health and mortality, causes of death, health and mortality inequalities

Email: sven.drefahl@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Sven Drefahl


Ann-Zofie Duvander, Professor of Demography

Research interests: Family policy, parental leave, social insurance, fertility, child maintenance, couple interaction, division of labor, income development, gender equality, divorce

Email: ann-zofie.duvander@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Ann-Zofie Duvander

 

Helen Eriksson, Researcher

Research interests: Family demography, family policy, parental leave, administrative register data, mixed models

Email: helen.eriksson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Helen Eriksson


Thomas Florén, Acting Lecturer

Email: thomas.floren@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Thomas Florén

 

Michael Gähler, Professor of Sociology, Head of Department

Research interests: Ethnic and gender inequality on the labor market, family sociology, social selection to higher education, social stratification, welfare distribution 

Email: michael.gahler@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Michael Gähler


Kristina Hagqvist, Lecturer

Email: kristina.hagqvist@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Kristina Hagqvist
 

Lisa Harber-Aschan

Email: lisa.harber.aschan@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Lisa Harber-Aschan 

Barbara Hobson, Professor Emerita of Sociology

Email: barbara.hobson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Barbara Hobson


Martin Hällsten, Professor of Sociology

Research interests: Quantitative methods, social stratification, social mobility 
multigenerational mobility, educational choice, wealth inequality, ethnic and racial inequality, contextual and peer effects, social capital, social networks

Email: martin.hallsten@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Martin Hällsten

 

Juho Härkönen, Professor of Sociology

Email: juho.harkonen@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Juho Härkönen


Martin Kolk, Docent, Researcher

Research interests: Demography of kinship, family demography, historical demography, income and fertility, global population growth, cultural evolution, social stratification, influence from the family of origin on demographic outcomes

Email: martin.kolk@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Martin Kolk


Linda Kridahl, Researcher

Research interests: Ageing, predictors of retirement, older couples, relational conflicts, late-life divorce, organization of household money, economic circumstance, gender equality, wellbeing, life course

Email: linda.kridahl@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Linda Kridahl
 

Carl le Grand, Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Email: carl.legrand@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Carl le Grand


Fredrik Liljeros, Professor of Sociology

Research interests: Social networks, mathematical and computational sociology, parallel programming, network epidemiology, hospital infections, sexually transmitted infections, information geometry and complex systems

See webpage for Fredrik Liljeros


Anna Lund, Professor of Sociology, Deputy Head of Department

Research interests: Cultural sociology, ethnography/qualitative interviews, arts, gender, sociology of education, multicultural incorporation, youth studies

Email: anna.lund@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Anna Lund


Lina Lundström, Acting lecturer


Hernan Mondani, Researcher

Research interests: Social organizing, social mechanisms, social network analysis, life-course trajectory analysis, computational social science, sequence analysis

Email: hernan.mondani@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Hernan Mondani 


Eleonora Mussino, Docent, Researcher

Research interests: International migration, life course, family demography, social policy, gender equality, quantitative method in social science, multiculturalism and integration, public health, mortality, inequality

Email: eleonora.mussino@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Eleonora Mussino


Mona Mårtensson, Docent, Researcher

Email: mona.martensson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Mona Mårtensson


Stefanie Möllborn, Senior lecturer

Research interests: Social demography, health, stratification, life course, social psychology, children and youth, gender, families

Email: mollborn@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Stefanie Möllborn


Magnus Nermo, Professor of Sociology

Email: magnus.nermo@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Magnus Nermo


Gerda Neyer, Docent, Researcher

Research interests: Welfare state, fertility, gender

Email: gerda.neyer@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Gerda Neyer


Sofi Ohlsson-Wijk, Researcher

Research interests: Family demography, family sociology, childbearing, work-family balance, labor market, employment, gender, marriage trends, family dynamics

Email: sofi.ohlsson-wijk@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Sofi Ohlsson-Wijk


Livia Oláh, Docent, Senior lecturer

Research interests: Family demography (partnership formation/dissolution, fertility), social policy, gender relations, social norms (values and attitudes), comparative research 

Email: livia.olah@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Livia Oláh


Didem Oral, Postdoc

Email: didem.oral@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Didem Oral


Giampiero Passaretta, Researcher

Email: giampiero.passaretta@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Giampiero Passaretta


Elena Pupaza, Researcher

Email: elena.pupaza@sociology.su.se

See web page for Elena Pupaza


Daniel Ritter, Docent, Senior lecturer

Research interests: Revolutions, unarmed/nonviolent/civil resistance, social movements, political sociology, comparative historical sociology

Email: daniel.ritter@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Daniel Ritter


Jens Rydgren, Professor of Sociology

Research interests: Political sociology, party politics, voting behavior, nationalism, intergroup relations, ethnic conflict, social networks, belief formation

Email: jens.rydgren@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Jens Rydgren 


Åke Sandberg, Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Research interests: Sociology of work and organization, work and technological change, critical management studies, gig economy and platform economy, industrial relations, “the Swedish model”

Email: ake.sandberg@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Åke Sandberg


Johanna Schiratzki, Researcher, Professor of Welfare Law

Research interests: Child law, family law, welfare law, best interests of the child, maintenance, parental responsibility

Email: johanna.schiratzki@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Johanna Schiratzki


Kirk Scott, Researcher

Email: kirk.scott@sociology.su.se

See web page for Kirk Scott


Kristina Stenström, Researcher

Email: kristina.stenstrom@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Kristina Stenström

 

Charlotta Stern, Professor of Sociology 

Research interests: Swedish labor market model, organization sociology, HR sociology, sociology of labor law

Email: lotta.stern@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Charlotta Stern


Mikaela Sundberg, Professor of Sociology

Research interests: Science and technology studies, sociology of organizations, voluntary total institutions, fraternal relations, sociology of friendship, microsociology, qualitative methods

Email: mikaela.sundberg@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Mikaela Sundberg


Signe Svallfors, Researcher     

Research interests: Sexual and reproductive health and rights, radical reproductive justice, gender-based violence, contraception, fertility preferences, armed conflict, Colombia

Email: signe.svallfors@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Signe Svallfors


Árni Sverrisson, Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Research interests: Technology in Society, digital Photography, innovation and entrepreneurship, social networks, visual Studies, environmental change, african development

Email: arni.sverrisson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Árni Sverrisson


Ryszard Szulkin, Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Email: ryszard.szulkin@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Ryszard Szulkin

 

Elizabeth Thomson, Professor emerita of Demography

Research interests: Family demography, multipartner fertility, separation/divorce, couple decision-making, complex families and kinship, shared physical custody

Email: elizabeth.thomson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Elizabeth Thomson

 

Lars Udehn, Professor Emeritus of Sociology

Email: lars.udehn@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Lars Udehn

 

Caroline Uggla, Researcher

Research interests: Sex ratios and demography

Email: caroline.uggla@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Caroline Uggla


Andrea Voyer, Docent, Senior Lecturer in Sociology

Research interests: Cultural sociology, inequality, immigration, class, race and ethnicity, inclusion and exclusion, social change, social theory, computational sociology, qualitative methods

Email: andrea.voyer@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Andrea Voyer


Matthew Wallace, Docent, Researcher

Research interests: Health, mortality, international immigration, migrants and the descendants of migrants, ethnicity, and inequality

Email: matthew.wallace@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Matthew Wallace


Rosa Weber, Researcher

Research interests: International migration, integration, second-generation migrants, social capital, immigration enforcement, gender and labour market integration, remittances

Email: rosa.weber@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Rosa Weber


Linda Weidenstedt, Lecturer

Research interests: Sociology of work and employment, organizational sociology, labor market research, future of work, digital work, platform and gig economy, human resources, empowering leadership

Email: linda.weidenstedt@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Linda Weidenstedt


Ben Wilson, Docent, Researcher

Research interests: Social demography, the lives of immigrants and their descendants families, children and childbearing, socioeconomic and health inequalities research design and methodology

Email: ben.wilson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Ben Wilson


Weiqian Xia, Researcher    

Research interests: Political sociology, political attitudes and behaviors, party politics, sociology of religion, values, ethnic relations

Email: weiqian.xia@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Weiqian Xia  

 

Peter Åkerbäck, Director of Studies Undergraduate Level

Research keywords: New religious movements, sects, sectarianism, sociology of religion, new age movements, religion, tantrism (neotantra)

Email: peter.akerback@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Peter Åkerbäck

 

 

 

PhD students

Petter Bengtsson     

Research interests: Economic sociology; markets in general and housing markets in particular; social theory; qualitative methods

Email: petter.bengtsson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Petter Bengtsson  

 

Benson John     

Email: benson.john@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Benson John  

 

Klára Čapková     

Email: klara.capkova@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Klára Čapková


Erik Carlsson 

Research interests: Fertility of immigrants, fertility differentials between ethnic groups, fertility intentions and their realization    

Email: erik.carlsson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Erik Carlsson


Serena Coppolino Perfumi    

Research interests: Digital sociology, media psychology, critical internet studies, online disinformation, digital cultures, clgorithmic bias

Email: serena.perfumi@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Serena Coppolino Perfumi 

 
Filip Dabergott  

Email: filip.dabergott@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Filip Dabergott

  
Daniel Dahl     

Email: daniel.dahl@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Daniel Dahl  


Johanna Finnström     

Research interests: Social policy, gender relations, separation and conflict, economic conflict, child maintenance, family sociology and parenting behaviour, sociology of law

Email: johanna.finnstrom@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Johanna Finnström


David Grobgeld

Email: david.grobgeld@sociology.su.se

See webpage for David Grobgeld

     
Zeth Isaksson     

Research interests: Comparative politics, political economy, quantitative methods, and political sociology with a particular interest for historical political economy.

Email: zeth.isaksson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Zeth Isaksson


Elida Izani Ibrahim

Research interests: Polarization, lifestyles, cultural sociology, computational social science

Email: elida.ibrahim@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Elida Izani Ibrahim

     
Malcolm Jacobson     

Research interests: Cultural Sociology, memory studies, visual studies, subcultures, graffiti, photography

Email: malcolm.jacobson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Malcolm Jacobson  


Sjors Joosten    

Research interests: Urban sociology, social cohesion and inequality, arts (music), multicultural integration, belonging and identity, ethnography 

Email: sjors.joosten@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Sjors Joosten

 

Kristin Jung Ståhle    

Research interests: Cultural aesthetics, political theory, sexuality, pop culture

Email: kristin.jung-stahle@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Kristin Jung Ståhle  


Konstantin Kazenin

Email: konstantin.kazenin@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Konstantin Kazenin

 
Maxim Kan     

Research interests: Fertility, gender inequality, ethnicity, religion, contraceptive use, sexual and reproductive health, Central Asia, Post-Soviet countries

Email: maxim.kan@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Maxim Kan  


Wooseong Kim     

Research interests: Immigrant integration, second-generation immigrants, educational mismatch, migration, health inequality

Email: wooseong.kim@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Wooseong Kim    


Melis Kirgil     

Research interests: Social norms, social inequality, networks, cooperation, collective intentionality, cross-cultural differences, mixed-methods

Email: melis.kirgil@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Melis Kirgil


Sanni Kuikka     

Research interests: Computational social science, machine learning, algorithmic bias, life course, intergenerational processes, neighbourhood effects, social policy, population register data

Email: sanni.kuikka@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Sanni Kuikka     


Weiven Lai     

Research interests: Family demography, migration, cohabitation, partnership dynamics

Email: weiwen.lai@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Weiven Lai    

 

Pierre Nikolov     

Email: pierre.nikolov@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Pierre Nikolov


Anna-Karin Nylin     

Email: anna-karin.nylin@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Anna-Karin Nylin


Filip Olsson     

Research interests: Implicit bias, discrimination, nationalism, experimental research

Email: filip.olsson@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Filip Olsson   


Steffen Peters     

Research interests: Fertility, personality, five factor model

Email: steffen.peters@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Steffen Peters  


Miska Simanainen     

Research interests: Cash transfers and incentives, poverty and income inequality, health and wellbeing, field experiments, register studies, tax-benefit microsimulation modelling

Email: miska.simanainen@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Miska Simanainen  


Signe Svallfors     

Research interests: Sexual and reproductive health and rights, radical reproductive justice, gender-based violence, contraception, fertility preferences, armed conflict, Colombia

Email: signe.svallfors@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Signe Svallfors  


Ryan Switzer     

Research interests: Social movements, technology, comparative politics, social and cultural theory, policing, far right politics, history of ideas

Email: ryan.switzer@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Ryan Switzer     


Max Thaning     

Research interests: Intergenerational inequality, social mobility, social class and socio-economic inequality

Email: max.thaning@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Max Thaning


Frankseco Yorke  

Research interests: Refugees studies, immigration and integration, second generation immigrants education and health outcomes of refugees

Email: frankseco.yorke@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Frankseco Yorke

  
Weiqian Xia     

Research interests: Political sociology, political attitudes and behaviors, party politics, sociology of religion, values, ethnic relations

Email: weiqian.xia@sociology.su.se

See webpage for Weiqian Xia  

 

On this page