Stockholm university logo, link to start page

Honorary doctorates

The awarding of an honorary doctorate is an expression of the University's appreciation of outstanding contributions in one or more of the University's areas of academic activity.

The Deputy Vice President appoints the honorary doctors for the academic area after proposals from and discussions within the faculties.

The proposed person should be affiliated with the University as an honorary doctorate is an expression of the appreciation of outstanding contributions in one of the university's academic areas. Honorary doctorates may not be awarded in return for financial contributions, gifts and the like.

A person who has already been awarded a PhD in Sweden within a certain academic area may not be awarded an honorary doctorate in the same area. It is, however, quite possible to appoint a doctor of philosophy, for example, to an honorary doctor of Laws and vice versa. It is not usual that someone be appointed an honorary doctorate at the same university that he or she graduated from.There is no requirement that an honorary doctor has obtained an academic degree.

In the case of foreign nationals with a foreign degree, there is no obstacle to awarding an honorary doctorate in the same area as the foreign degree.

The proposed person should not be an honorary doctor in the same field at another university or higher education institution in Sweden. However, a person may, for example, be an honorary doctor of philosophy at one university and honorary doctor of medicine at another.

An honorary doctorate cannot be awarded posthumously.


Stockholm University appointed already in 2020 nine honorary doctors, all of whom have contributed in distinctive ways to the University’s activities in research and education. The new honorary doctors are: Jane Gaines, Tobias Svanelid, Lars Hörngren, Yuto Kitamura, Ann Åberg, Karen Kohfeld, Fernando Martín, Joanna Rose and John Rubinstein. They will be conferred their honorary degree on 30 September 2022.

Honorary doctors 2022


See a list of Stockholm University's honorary doctors from 1994 onwards (in Swedish).

Honorary doctors from 1994



Anne Heikkinen Sandberg, Master of Ceremonies
Phone: +46-8-164716

Ingrid Harris, Event Coordinator
Phone: +46-8-164908

Visiting Address:
Spökslottet, Drottninggatan 116

Postal address:
Stockholm University
Office of the President
SE-106 91 Stockholm

On this page