Foto: Kungliga Vetenskapsakademien
Foto: Kungliga Vetenskapsakademien

The process to decide who the winners of the Nobel Prizes in Chemistry and Physics, as well as the Prize in Economic Sciences, is led by three committees at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (KVA). The chairman of the Nobel Committee for Physics and the secretaries of both the Nobel Committee for Chemistry and Economic Sciences Prize Committee are professors at Stockholm University. Other researchers at the University also participate in these committees as members.

The Nobel Committee for Chemistry

Gunnar von Heijne, Professor of Theoretical Chemistry at Stockholm University, is secretary and member of the Chemistry Committee. Peter Brzezinski, Professor in Biochemistry at Stockholm University, is a member of the committee.

The Nobel Committee for Physics

Mats Larsson, Professor of Molecular Physics at Stockholm University, is secretary and member of the Physics Committee. Thors Hans Hansson, Professor of Theoretical Physics, is a member of the committee.

The Nobel Committee for Literature at the Swedish Academy

Anders Olsson, Professor Emeritus of Literature at Stockholm University is chairman of the Swedish Academy’s Nobel Committee for Literature. Tomas Riad, Professor of Scandinavian Languages and Kjell Espmark, Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature are two of the eighteen voting members of the Swedish Academy. In December 2019 Åsa Wikforss, Professor of Theoretical Philosphy, will be formally inducted into the Swedish Academy.

The Economic Sciences Prize Committee

The Committee for the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel currently includes thress researchers at Stockholm University.  The secretary and member is Torsten Persson, members are Jakob Svensson and Per Krusell, all three of them professors at the Institute for International Economic Studies (IIES).

Meet this year's Nobel Laureates in Aula Magna

On 8 December, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (KVA) will organise the traditional Nobel Lectures in which the Nobel Laureates address the public in the Aula Magna lecture halls at Stockholm University.

Nobel Laureates from Stockholm University

Four scientists from Stockholm University have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, whilst another has received the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel (Economy Prize).