The Stockholm Prize in Criminology is the world's most prestigious award in the field of criminology. The prize has been awarded since 2006, and recognizes outstanding achievements in criminological research or for the application of research results by practitioners for the reduction of crime and the advancement of human rights. The 2018 Stockholm Prize in Criminology celebrates Professor Herman Goldstein’s global impact on the improvement of policing.

The prize ceremony takes place in conjunction with the Stockholm Criminology Symposium.

Professor Herman Goldstein

The international jury for the Stockholm Prize in Criminology recognizes University of Wisconsin Law School Professor Herman Goldstein as the world’s most influential scholar on modern police strategy. His work has prompted police to focus more on improving the overall outcomes of police work and less on traditional tasks that may have little public benefit. The essence of his critique was that policing was not sufficiently focused on accomplishing specific goals connected to specific problems.

Since the publication of his strategy in 1979, police have increasingly moved towards identifying patterns of repeated events with similar features. This strategic focus enables police to take aim at measureable “problems,” rather than just dealing with each incident or case in isolation. His work has also had profound effects on police research, encouraging police and researchers to collaborate in evaluating the effects of new responses to these problems.

The Jury recognizes not only Professor Goldstein’s strategy of “problem-oriented policing,” but also a lifetime of pioneering work on the broader issues of police functions in society, police discretion, political accountability, police corruption, and relationships of police to the criminal-justice system. His writings have employed a holistic blend of empiricism, organizational theory, human rights, and legal philosophy to the unique role of police in free societies.

Read more about Professor Herman Goldstein and his work.

Previous prize recipients.