Motivation of the jury

This award recognizes research that has helped to re-shape the use of prison and community corrections based on evidence of what works – and what doesn’t.

Petersilia’s work on prisoner re-entry helped multiply US investment in supporting ex-offenders during the high-risk period immediately following release from prison, often with no place to live or work.

Nagin’s reviews of evidence for the zero-to-negative effects of prison on those serving custodial sentences helped support the first decline in four decades in the world’s highest incarceration rate, providing a clear rationale to invest more in policing than in imprisonment.


Daniel S. Nagin
Daniel S. Nagin

Daniel S. Nagin

Daniel S. Nagin is the Teresa and H. John Heinz III University Professor of Public Policy and Statistics at Carnegie Mellon University. A leading theorist of the deterrent effects of criminal sanctions, he led the development of evidence showing that imprisoning offenders generally fails to reduce repeat offending, and more often may increase crime rates, relative to community corrections options.


Joan Petersilia

Joan Petersilia
Joan Petersilia

Joan Petersilia is the Adelbert H. Sweet Professor of Law at Stanford University. She has spent 30 years studying the performance of criminal justice agencies and has played a key role in affecting sentencing and corrections reforms in California. As an “embedded criminologist” in the office of the Governor of California, she helped craft the state’s policies in response to a case in which the US Supreme Court ordered the release of over 40,000 prisoners.

Her work has helped to unify the policy analysis of sentencing, imprisonment, parole and re-imprisonment, connecting these issues to use imprisonment as little as possible despite decades of mandatory sentencing laws.

Award ceremony

The award ceremony will take place on June 10, 2014, in Stockholm City Hall. The ceremony will be followed by a gala dinner. Read more about the ceremony.

Facts about the prize

The Stockholm Prize in Criminology is an international prize established under the aegis of the Swe-dish Ministry of Justice and with major contributions from the Torsten Söderberg Foundation. It is awarded annually and amounts to 1,000,000 SEK.

The prize is awarded for outstanding achievements in criminological research or for the application of research results by practitioners for the reduction of crime and the advancement of human rights.

The prize was presented for the first time in June 2006 at the City Hall in Stockholm. The prize cere-mony is held in conjunction with the Stockholm Criminology Symposium.

More information about the prize.


Further information

Chairmen of the Jury


Professor Lawrence Sherman, University of Cambridge and University of Maryland:, +44 (0)1223 335 369





Professor Jerzy Sarnecki, Stockholm University:, +46 (0)8-16 21 02






Award winners

Joan Petersilia,, +001-650 723-4740
Daniel S. Nagin,, +001-412-268-8474


Web broadcast from the announcment

The announcment was broadcasted live on October 30. The film is available on