In 2012, David Drew, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics (DBB), Helen Frowe, Department of Philosophy and Martin Högbom, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics (DBB) were named Wallenberg Academy Fellows and so was Sara Strandberg, Department of Physics, in 2013. The Knut and the Alice Wallenberg Foundation (KAW) have now awarded them an additional five-year grant of SEK 5 or 5.5 million each within the Wallenberg Scholar program.

Wallenberg Scholars is a program designed to support and encourage some of the most successful researchers at Swedish universities. The aim is for the researchers to be able to adopt a long-term approach to their work, with less time and effort expended on seeking external funding, and with higher ambitions, so that their research has an even greater international impact. The grants also enable researchers to commit to more challenging and longer-term projects.

More about Wallenberg Scholars