With the ambition to create an integrated university space where students, academics, researchers and staff move and collaborate as freely as within their institution of origin, eight universities have decided to create a European Civic University together.
The eight universities forming CIVIS are: Aix-Marseille Université (France), National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (Greece), University of Bucharest (Romania), Université Libre de Bruxelles (Belgium), Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain), Sapienza Università di Roma (Italia), Stockholm University (Sweden) and Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen (Germany).

This alliance brings together some 384.000 students and 55.000 staff members.  It will foster multilingualism by mixing native speakers in the English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Romanian, Spanish and Swedish languages.

CIVIS will create a space for innovative and responsible teaching, research, cultural exchanges and citizen action within Europe from the Baltic to the Mediterranean Sea, while engaging with the world, its inhabitants and its institutions.

A project oriented towards mobility, multilingualism and global challenges

The aim of the CIVIS network is to promote academic and democratic values among new generations of students by facilitating collaboration across national borders to increase the mobility for students, teachers and staff. The project is based on shared concerns and priorities that the partner universities want to tackle together: community engagement at the local or regional level; the sharing of expertise; multilingualism; focus on Africa and the Mediterranean in terms of global challenges: climate and energy, cities and mobility, health, cultural heritage, digital transformation.

CIVIS website: www.civis.eu

The European Universities Initiative

CIVIS is a selected pilot project receiving funding from the European Commission through the call “European Universities”.
Out of 54 applications received, the European Commission selected 17 projects involving 114 higher education institutions from 24 member states. Five more Swedish universities participate in various projects that have received funding through the European Commission’s “European Universities” initiative: Stockholm School of Economics, KTH the Royal Institute of Technology, and the universities in Linköping, Lund and Gothenburg.

More about the “European Universities” on the European Commission’s web site.

More information

Maria Wilenius, Head at Office of the President: maria.wilenius@su.se.