IIES Job Market Candidates 2022/2023

Each year graduate students nearing the completion of their PhD are proudly promoted on the Econ Job Market. Read more about our candidates for 2022/2023 below.

Throughout the years, the IIES' PhD graduates have joined many internationally renowned universities and organizations, taking up positions in the US, Europe, Australia, and Canada. At present, former IIES students hold tenured or untenured jobs at the University of Chicago, Columbia University, Northwestern University, UC San Diego, Zurich University, University of British Columbia, Universitat Pompeu Fabra, University of Minnesota, the Board of Governors, the European Central Bank, and the IMF.


Placement officers

The Placement officers this year are Professors Tessa Bold and Mitch Downey. Prospective employers who have questions about a candidates' vitae, experience, or research fields can contact either of them for more information. Employers may also contact the students and their advisers directly.

Tessa Bold

Phone: +46 (0)8 16 22 25
E-mail: tessa.bold@iies.su.se

Mitch Downey

Phone: +46 (0)8 16 30 70
E-mail: mitch.downey@iies.su.se

 

 

Tillmann von Carnap. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University
Tillmann von Carnap. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University

Personal web
CV
Cellphone: +46 (0)72 288 4230    
Email: tillmann.voncarnap@iies.su.se

Job Market Paper

Rural marketplaces and local development

Fields of Interest

Development Economics
Economic Geography
Remote sensing

References

Jakob Svensson
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 30 60
Email: jakob.svensson@iies.su.se

Anna Tompsett
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 38 51
Email: anna.tompsett@iies.su.se

Per Krusell
Phone: +45 (0)8 16 30 73
Email: per.krusell@iies.su.se

Edward Miguel
Phone: +1-510-642-4361
Email: emiguel@berkeley.edu

 

 

 

Sebastian Tebbe. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University
Sebastian Tebbe. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University

Personal web
CV
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 31 74
Cellphone: +46 (0)72 296 6092
Email: Sebastian.tebbe@iies.su.se

Job Market Paper

Peer Effects in (Hybrid) Electric Vehicle Adoption: Evidence from the Swedish Vehicle Market

Fields of Interest

Primary fields: Public Economics, Environmental Economics 
Secondary fields: Experimental Economics, Behavioral Economics

References

Jonathan de Quidt
Phone: +46 (0)8 45 86
Email: jonathan.dequidt@iies.su.se

Torsten Persson
Phone: +46 (0)8 15 30 66
Email: torsten.persson@iies.su.se

Robert Östling
Phone: +46 (0) 736 9252
Email: robert.ostling@hhs.se

James M. Sallee
Phone: +1 (0) 773 316 3480
Email: sallee@berkeley.edu

Peter Nilsson
Phone: +46 (0) 16 25 27
Email: peter.nilsson@iies.su.se

 

 

Francesco Loiacono. Photo: Private
Francesco Loiacono. Photo: Private

Personal web 
CV
Cellphone: +46 (0)73 998 0467
Email: francesco.loiacono@iies.su.se

Job Market Paper

Matching with the right attitudes: the effect of matching firms with refugee workers

Fields of Interest

Development Economics
Experimental Economics
Firms, Labor Markets

References

Jakob Svensson (Supervisor)
Phone: +46 (0)70 177 6717
Email: jakob.svensson@iies.su.se

Andreas Madestam (Supervisor)
Phone: +46 (0)76 028 9400
Email: andreas.madestam@su.se

Tessa Bold (Co-advisor)
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 22 25
Email: tessa.bold@iies.su.se

Emanuele Colonnelli
Phone: +1 (0)650 575 9917
Email: emanuele.colonnelli@chicagobooth.edu
 

 

 

Gualtiero Azzalini. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University
Gualtiero Azzalini. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University

Personal web
CV
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 30 59
Cellphone: +39 347 04 27 200
Email: gualtiero.azzalini@iies.su.se

Job Market Paper

Business cycle asymmetry of earnings pass-through

Fields of Interest

Macroeconomics
Macro-labor
Household Finance
Wealth Inequality

References

Per Krusell
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 30 73
Email: per.krusell@iies.su.se

Kurt Mitman
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 30 57
Email: kurt.mitman@iies.su.se

Kieran Larkin
Phone: +46 (0)8 674 77 15
Email: kieran.larkin@iies.su.se

Paolo Sodini
Phone: +46 (0)8 736 91 65
Email: paolo.sodini@hhs.se

 

 

Markus Kondziella. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University
Markus Kondziella. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University

Personal web
CV
Cellphone: +46 (0)73 619 9705
Email: markus.kondziella@iies.su.se

Job Market Paper

Recent changes in firm dynamics and the nature of economic growth 

Fields of Interest

Macroeconomics. In particular Firm Dynamics, Economic Growth and Wealth Inequality

References

Timo Boppart
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 35 52
Email: timo.boppart@iies.su.se

Per Krusell
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 30 73
Email: per.krusell@iies.su.se

Joshua Weiss
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 29 24
Email: joshua.weiss@iies.su.se

 

 

Markus Peters. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University
Markus Peters. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University

Personal web
CV
Cellphone: +46 (0)73 445 5881
Email: markus.peters@iies.su.se

Job Market Paper

How Individual Savings Respond to Pension Reform: Implications for Models of Savings Behavior 

Fields of Interest

Primary: Macroeconomics
Secondary: Finance, Public economics

References

Per Krusell (Main advisor)
Phone: +46 (0)70 276 13 34
Email: per.krusell@iies.su.se

Roine Vestman (Co-advisor)
Phone: +46 (0)70 959 55 88
Email: roine.vestman@su.se

Timo Boppart
Phone: +46 (0)73 315 46 42
Email: timo.boppart@iies.su.se

 

 

Claire Thürwächter. Photo: Private
Claire Thürwächter. Photo: Private

Personal web
CV
Cellphone: +46 (0) 73 685 4409
Email: claire.thurwachter@iies.su.se 

Job Market Paper

Firm Heterogeneity and Monetary Policy Transmission

Fields of Interest

Macroeconomics
Monetary Policy
Corporate Finance

References

Per Kursell
Phone: +46 (0) 8 16 30 73
Email: per.krusell@iies.su.se 

Timo Boppart
Phone: +46 (0) 8 16 35 52
Email: timo.boppart@iies.su.se 

Joshua Weiss
Phone: +46 (0) 8 16 29 24
Email: joshua.weiss@iies.su.se 

 

 

Sreyashi Sen. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University
Sreyashi Sen. Photo: IIES/Stockholm University

Personal web
CV
Phone: +46 (0) 8 16 30 72
Cellphone: +46 (0) 736 30 6714
Email: sreyashi.sen@iies.su.se

Job Market Paper

Labour Regulations and Industrial Performance: Evidence from India

Fields of Interest

Development Economics
Political Economy
Macro-development

References

Jakob Svensson (Primary Advisor)
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 3060
Email: jakob.svensson@iies.su.se 

David Schönholzer (Advisor)
Phone: +46 (0)8 16 20 69
Email: david.schonholzer@iies.su.se 

Maitreesh Ghatak
Phone: +44 (0) 207 852 3568
Email: m.ghatak@lse.ac.uk 

On this page