Meet three of the laureates invited by Stockholm University to talk about their work, presented by Ig Nobel Prize initiator Marc Abrahams.


Marc Abrahams, Ig Nobel prize initiator

Fredrik Sjöberg, winner of the Ig-literature prize

Piers Barnes, winner of the Ig-mathematics prize

Minna Lyons, winner of the Ig-psychology prize

What is the Ig Nobel Prize?

"The prizes are intended to celebrate the unusual, honor the imaginative, and spur people's interest in science, medicine, and technology", Marc Abrahams, editor of Annals of Improbable Research and co-sponsor of the awards. What is the Ig Nobel Prize?

Listen to Marc Abrahams explaining the essence of the Ig Nobel Prize in this video by American Newshour.

Flies, blinks and creatures of the night

Literature prize: Fredrik Sjöberg, for his three-volume autobiographical work about the pleasures of collecting flies that are dead, and flies that are not yet dead. The Fly Trap is the first volume of Fredrik Sjöberg's autobiographical trilogy, En Flugsamlares Väg ("The Path of a Fly Collector"), and the first to be published in English.

Mathematics prize: Nic Svenson and Piers Barnes of the Australian Commonwealth Scientific and Research Organization, for calculating the number of photographs you must take to (almost) ensure that nobody in a group photo will have their eyes closed, "Blink-Free Photos, Guaranteed".

Psychology prize: Peter K. Jonason, Amy Jones, and Minna Lyons, for amassing evidence that people who habitually stay up late are, on average, more self-admiring, more manipulative, and more psychopathic than people who habitually arise early in the morning. "Creatures of the night: Chronotypes and the Dark Triad traits".

Ig Nobel events in Stockholm on March 27

Stockholm University, Studenthuset Galleriet
11.30 AM – 1 PM
Universitetsvägen 2B

Karolinska Institutet, KI. Sal Gustaf Retzius
3 PM –4.30 PM
Berzelius väg 3 eller Retzius väg 20, Solna

Fri Tanke Förlag
5.30 PM – 7 PM
Kungsgatan 60, Stockholm