The department is governed by a board chaired by the head of department. The head of department has the highest responsibility for the entire department's activities. Below you can read more about our board and management team. Further down the page you will find a link to all our committees and programme councils. Contact details for staff can be found under Contact.


Head of Department and Fysikum Board

Head of Department

Professor Jan Conrad

Deputy Head of Department and Director of Studies

Professor Per-Erik Tegnér


During the autumn semester 2021, the Fysikum board will meet:

  • February 24 at 13:00
  • March 24 at 13:00
  • April 28 at 13:00
  • June 9 at 13:00

College Board

Agenda for the meeting 28 April (for internal use only and requires permissions)

Minutes of the Board Meeting at the Department of Physics ((for internal use only and requires permissions)

  • Jan Conrad, Head of department, Chairman
  • Per-Erik Tegnér, Deputy head of department and director of studies for postgraduate education
  • Malin Hell, Head, Administrative Division
  • Patrik Löfgren, Head, Technical Division
  • Fredrik Hellberg, Director of Studies, Basic Education
  • Christophe Clement, Assistant Director of Studies, Basic Education
  • Gunilla Häggström, Communications Officer
  • Holger Motzkau, 1st Research Engineer

Committees at Fysikum

Below is information about the committees of the Department of Physics and how they are appointed.

Fysikum's Board of Governors (FS) appoints the chairman on the proposal of the Head of Department and decides on the assignment and composition. The FS determines the members of the committee every three years, in connection with the new term of office of the Board. Any changes during the term of office are decided by the Head of the Department.

Representatives of the research departments are appointed on the basis of nominations from the respective departments. The TA representative is appointed following nominations from the Technical and Administrative Departments jointly. Student representatives are appointed by the Student Union.

Changes of members are communicated to the Head of Department and the President with a copy to the Administrative Coordinator.


The Department of Physics PhD Council (in Swedish "Fysikums doktorandråd") is the assembly of all PhD students at the Department of Physics at Stockholm University. Its purpose is to represent the interests of the PhD students in the different committees, boards and councils within the department and the university. This page is mantained by the PhD Council representative.

The Department of Physics PhD Council webpage

On this page