The department consists of three Sections, namely: the Section for Journalism, Media and Communication Studies (JMK), and the Sections for Cinema and Fashion Studies.

The department consists of three Sections, namely: 

  1. The Section for Journalism, Media and Communication Studies (JMK)
  2. The Section for Cinema Studies
  3. The Section for Fashion Studies

Senior Management Team

Hirdman, Dahlquist och Erell Foto: A. Landin, L. Dahlquist Mörkenstam och Stockholms universitet
The department's Senior Management Team is composed of the Head of Department Anja Hirdman, Deputy Head of Department Marina Dahlquist and Head of Administration Peter Erell. Photo: Anna Karin Landin, Lo Dahlquist Mörkenstam and Stockholm University.

A new Senior Management Team started in January 2021. Professor Anja Hirdman and professor Marina Dahlquist were appointed by the President to Head of Department and Deputy Head of Department of the Department of Media Studies, for the next three years (January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2023). Peter Erell procedes as Head of Administration and is a member of the Senior Management Team since last year. 


The department is headquartered in two different buildings, Garnisonen and the Film House. JMK and the main part of the administration are based in Garnisonen, while the Sections for Cinema and Fashion Studies are based in the Film House. The organisation chart shows you how we operate.

On a departmental level

Head of Administration 
Peter Erell

Marie Jonsson Ewerbring and Anna Åberg

Human Resources
Barbara Pol

Petrus Dahlbeck

Student Administration Coordinator
Henrik Schröder (as of August 2021)

Research Communication
Svante Emanuelli

Communication of Education
Henrik Schröder 

Alumni and Exchange Coordinator
Birgitta Fiedler

Department Student Counsellor
Emelie Jamieson (responsible for the whole department as of August 2021)



Student Affairs Office
Maria Lundin and Annika Karlsson

ICT Support research and education
Bart van der Gaag and Fredrik Mårtenson

Roland Carlsson

Internship administration
Annika Karlsson

The JMK Library
Agnes Gerner


The Film House

Student Affairs Office
Mattias Johannesson and Annika Karlsson

ICT Support research and education
Mariusz Frackiewicz

Mariusz Frackiewicz


Governing documents (i.e. styrdokument)


Omslagssida till institutionens verksamhetsplan. Grafik: Stockholms universitet © 2021
Annual report. Graphics: Stockholm University © 2021

The Annual Report's main purpose is to be a tool for the department's development and change. 

On this page