Each semester is divided into four periods: A, B, C and D.

Spring 2017
16 January to 4 June
Period A: Monday 16 January
Period B: Thursday 16 February
Period C: Tuesday 21 March
Period D: Tuesday 2 May

Autumn 2017
28 August to 14 January
Period A: Monday 28 August
Period B: Thursday 28 September
Period C: Tuesday 31 October
Period D: Thursday 30 November

Spring 2018
15 January to 3 June
Period A: Monday 15 January
Period B: Thursday 15 February
Period C: Tuesday 20 March
Period D: Monday 30 April

Registration may take place before the official start of the semester

After you have been admitted to a course you will need to confirm your enrollment through a registration before the start of the semester. Sometimes the registration takes place some days before the official starting date of the semester - make sure you know when you have your registration before you book your flight to Sweden.

Stockholm University has a decentralised organisation which means that there are different ways of registering depending on which department you will be studying with. You will be given information from the respectively department on how and when to register. If you do not recieve information regarding registration and if there is no information about registration dates on the departmental website, please contact the department directly. You can find a list of all departments at su.se/departments


Next Orientation Week for international students takes place on Monday 21 August until Friday 25 August 2016.