Lennart Bergström

Lennart Bergström


Visa sidan på svenska
Works at Department of Materials and Environmental Chemistry
Telephone 08-16 23 68
Visiting address Svante Arrhenius väg 16 C
Room C 428
Postal address Institutionen för material- och miljökemi 106 91 Stockholm

About me

I am professor of Materials Chemistry at Stockholm University since 2004. I currently serve as member of the Scientific Council for Natural and Engineering Sciences at the Swedish Research Council, as advisory group member for Stockholm University for the Swedness (SSF) Research School, and as deputy director for the MISTRA Safechem programme.

I was elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) in the class of chemical engineering in 2013 and served as deputy chairman 2015-2017. I am academician of the World Academy of Ceramics and a fellow of three scientific societies; two in ceramics (Fellow of the European Ceramic Society and American Ceramic Society) and one in chemistry (Fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry). In 2011, I received the Humboldt Senior Research Award (in materials science) for my research that “bridges deep, basic, knowledge-driven science with applications for a more sustainable society” (quote from laudation at award ceremony, Bamberg, Germany, March 23, 2012). I am proud that 10 of my former co-workers are now professors in universities all over the world and more than 35 of my former PhD students and postdocs now have positions in academia, industry and research institutes, mainly in Sweden but also in Denmark, USA, Singapore, China, Japan and Germany.

I have published more than 220 papers and my work has been cited more than 14000 times;  H-index 63 (Google Scholar).


My research activities span the academic disciplines of materials engineering and applied surface and colloid science often in nanostructural form. The research has resulted in several inventions and both generated patents that have been sold to industry and also lead to the formation of two spin-out companies; NeoZeo AB in 2010 and Cellutech AB in 2013.

Materials for thermal insulation

Funding: Swedish Energy Agency, Wallenberg Wood Science Center

The energy needed to construct buildings and to maintain a pleasant interior environment accounts for more than 30% of the world´s total energy consumption and generates a significant part of the global greenhouse gas emissions. Decreasing heat transfer through better insulation is essential to improve the energy efficiency of buildings. We develop thermally insulating materials based on renewable or widely abundant raw materials with superinsulating properties and investigate fundamental aspects of heat transfer including phonon scattering and moisture-dependence.

Selected publications:

V Apostolopoulou-Kalkavoura, P Munier, L Bergström, "Thermally Insulating nanocellulose-Based Materials", Advanced Materials, 2001839 (2020)

B Wicklein, A Kocjan, G Salazar-Alvarez, F Carosio, G Camino, M Antonietti, L Bergström, “Thermally insulating and fire-retardant lightweight anisotropic foams based on nanocellulose and graphene oxide”, Nature Nanotechnology, 10, 277-283 (2015)

V Apostolopoulou-Kalkavoura, S Hu, N Lavoine, M Garg, M Linares, P Munier, I Zozoulenko, J Shiomi, L Bergström, “Humidity-Dependent Thermal Boundary Conductance Controls Heat Transport of Super-Insulating Nanofibrillar Foam” Matter, ASAP (2021)

B Wicklein, D Kocjan, F Carosio, G Camino, L Bergström, “Tuning the nanocellulose-borate interaction to achieve highly flame retardant materials” Chemistry of Materials, 28, 1985-1989 (2016)

Z-L Yu, N Ying, V Apostolopoulou-Kalkavoura, B Qin, Z-Y Ma, M-Y Xing, C Qiao, L Bergström, M Antonietti, S-H Yu, “Fire-retardant and thermally insulating phenolic-silica aerogels”, Angewandte Chemie, 57, 4538-4542 (2018)


Colloidal processing of bio-based and Earth-abundant nanomaterials

Funding: Wallenberg Wood Science Center, ERA-NET (Vinnova)

Colloidal processing of nanoparticles based on renewable and Earth-abundant resources and self-assembly of nanoparticles to form novel nanostructured materials with useful properties are at the core of our activities where the fundamental activities aim to generate a better understanding of the molecular or mesoscopic assembly mechanisms. Biomimetic synthesis which involves the integration and assembly of inorganic materials with polymers and biomolecules is another closely related field of interest.

Selected publications:

J P. F. Lagerwall, C Schütz, M Salajkova, J Noh, J H Park, G Scalia, and L Bergström, “Cellulose nanocrystal-based materials: from liquid crystal self-assembly and glass formation to multifunctional thin films”, NPG Asia Materials, 6, e80 (2014)

Y Liu, S-H Yu, L Bergström, “Transparent and flexible nacre-like hybrid films of aminoclays and carboxylated cellulose nanofibrils”, Advanced Functional Materials 28, 1703277 (2017)

N Lavoine, L Bergström, “Nanocellulose-based foams and aerogels: processing, properties and applications”, J. Mater. Chem. A, 5, 16105-117 (2017)

H P. Voisin, K Gordeyeva, G Siqueira, M K. Hausmann, A R. Studart, L Bergström, “3D printing of strong lightweight cellular structures using polysaccharide-based composite foams”, ACS Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering 6, 17160-17167 (2018)

K Kriechbaum, V Apostolopoulou-Kalkavoura, P Munier, L Bergström, “Sclerotozation-inspired aminoquinone cross-linking of thermally insulating and moisture-resilient biobased foams”, ACS Sustainable Chemistry and Engineering, (2020)

K Kriechbaum, L Bergström, “Antioxidant and UV-blocking leather-inspired nanocellulose-based films with high wet strength”, Biomacromolecules, 21, 5, 1720–1728 (2020)

Time-resolved scattering of self-assembly

Funding: Swedish Research Council (VR)

This project aims to generate a deeper understanding of the formation of complex and multicomponent nanostructured materials by tunable assembly of  bio-based and inorganic nanoparticles. We study in real time how nanoparticles assemble to form mesocrystals with complex structures and multicomponent compositions using e.g. time-resolved QCM-D and small-angle X-ray scattering (SAXS) in levitating drops and customized measurement cells.


Selected publications:

Z-P Lv, M Kapuscinski, L Bergström, “Tunable assembly of truncated nanocubes by evaporation-driven poor-solvent enrichment”, Nature Communications, 10, 4228 (2019)

M Kapuscinski, P Munier, M Segad, L Bergström, “Two-Stage Assembly of Mesocrystal  Fibres with Tunable Diamaters in Weak Magnetic Fields”,  Nano Letters, 20, 10, 7359–7366 (2020)

M Kapuscinski, M Agthe, Z-P Lv, M Segad, L Bergström, “Temporal Evolution of Superlattice Contraction and Defect-Induced Strain Anisotropy in Mesocrystals during Nanocube Self-Assembly”, ACS Nano, 14, 5, 5337–5347 (2020)

Y Liu, C Schütz, G Salazar-Alvarez, L Bergström, “Assembly, Gelation and Helicoidal consolidation of nanocellulose dispersions”, Langmuir, 35, 3600-3606 (2019)

M Agthe, T S. Plivelic, A Labrador, L Bergström, G Salazar-Alvarez, “Following in real-time the two-step assembly of nanoparticles into mesocrystals in levitating drops”, Nano Letters, 16, 6838-6843 (2016)



Research group members

Tamara Church (Researcher)

Andi Di (Researcher)

Varvara Apostolopoulou-Kalkavoura (PhD student)

Pierre Munier (PhD student)

Ehsan Hadi (PhD student)

Carina Schiele (PhD student)



Last updated: December 2, 2020

Bookmark and share Tell a friend