Kurt Mitman, from the Institute for International Economic Studies (IIES), received a grant for the project ”Micro Heterogeneity and Macroeconomic Policy”.

Marc Friedländer, Department of Molecular Biosciences, The Wenner-Gren Institute, received support for the project ”MicroRNA functions in single cells”.

Tanja Slotte, from the Department of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences, was awarded support for the research ”Supergene evolution in a classic plant system – bringing the study of distyly into the genomic Era”.

Dan Petersen, Department of Mathematics, was awarded a grant for ”Topology of moduli spaces of Riemann surfaces” and Jaime De la Cruz, Department of Astronomy, earned support for ”SUNMAG: Understanding magnetic-field-regulated heating and explosive events in the solar chromosphere.”

Blaise Goutéraux, from the Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics, received support for the project ”Hydrodynamics, holography and strongly-coupled quantum matter”, but will conduct the research at the Ecole Polytechnique in Paris and Stina Bergman Blix at the Department of Sociology was awarded a grant for ”The construction of objectivity – An international perspective on the emotive-cognitive process of judicial decision-making” and will conduct her research at Uppsala University.

The European Research Council (ERC) has a number of funding types. The aim of the ERC Starting Grant is to give young talented research leaders independence to allow them to build their own careers in Europe.