Hugo Theorell prize for 2023 awarded to DBB researcher Marta Carroni

Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics and Science for Life Laboratory researcher Marta Carroni is this years’ winner of the Hugo Theorell Prize in Biophysics.

Marta Carroni
Marta Carroni.

The 2023 prize has been awarded to Dr Marta Carroni by the Swedish Society for Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology (SFBBM) “for her great contributions to make cryo-electron microscopy available to Swedish researchers, educate users of the Cryo-EM unit at SciLifeLab and also carry out significant research on her own”.

Dr Carroni says “When I received the news that I was awarded the Theorell prize I felt so happy and especially thankful. Working to make cryo-EM accessible to researchers in Sweden has given me the chance to get quickly in close contact with the structural biology community, in a way that that would have taken much longer otherwise. For that, I have to thank SciLifeLab for the breadth of thinking in making infrastructure available to everyone.”

About the Hugo Theorell prize

Hugo Theorell was a biophysical researcher, who received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1955. The Hugo Theorell prize is awarded to a researcher in biophysics, who has not turned 45 during the year of the award. 

Read more about Marta Carroni’s research and her research groups.
Read more about Science for Life Laboratory
Read more about the Hugo Theorell Prize