The department is run by the head of department, the deputy head of department, and a department board. The board is a link between the department and the Faculty of Social Science.


The department board is the highest decision making unit of the department. The board is led by the head (chairman) and the deputy head (vice-chairman).

The members represent both academic staff and administrative staff.

The board also includes student representatives from all study levels.

Board members 2024 to 2026

Established members

  • Sten Nyberg, head of department
  • Mårten Palme, deputy head of department
  • Rikard Forslid, teacher/researcher
  • Paul Klein, teacher/researcher
  • Mikael Priks, teacher/researcher
  • David Seim, teacher/researcher
  • Vacant, teacher/researcher
  • Vacant, teacher/researcher
  • Anders Fogelberg, administrative representative
  • Erika Höghede, administrative representative
  • Jacob Granqvist, student representative, PhD student
  • Vacant, student representative
  • Vacant, student representative

Deputy members

  • Annika Alexius, teacher/researcher
  • Andreas Madestam, teacher/researcher
  • Josef Sigurdsson, teacher/researcher
  • David Strömberg, teacher/researcher
  • Vacant, teacher/researcher
  • Durim Bekteshi, administrative representative
  • Audrone Mozuraitiene, administrative representative
  • Chloé Castagnet, student representative, PhD student
  • Mika Konings, student representative
  • Vacant, student representative
  • Sten Nyberg, head of department
  • Mårten Palme, deputy head of department
  • Anders Fogelberg, acting head of administration
  • Adam Jacobsson, director of studies
  • Ann-Sofie Kolm, director of studies

Environmental representative at the department is Rikard Forslid.


Here are the governing documents which are the foundation for the department's activities:

Strategic plan 2019-2023 (264 Kb)

Crisis plan (2022) (77 Kb)

Actions to be taken upon the occurrence of sexual harassments and gender insults (261 Kb)

Environmental plan 2023 (43 Kb)

On this page