47th Annual European Meeting on Atmospheric Studies by Optical Methods (“Optical Meeting”)

Stockholm, Sweden, August 20-24, 2023.

Registration is now open. See below. Deadline: July 15. 

Noctilucent clouds over Stockholm. Photo: Nathan Wilhelm/MISU/Stockholm University
Noctilucent clouds over Stockholm. Photo: Nathan Wilhelm/MISU/Stockholm University

We invite you to the “Optical Meeting” in Stockholm on August 20-24, 2023. Fifty years have passed since Georg Witt and his colleagues at Stockholm University founded this series of Annual European Meetings on Atmospheric Studies by Optical Methods. This is a good reason for returning to Stockholm for this year’s meeting.

You are invited to present and discuss new developments and applications of optical instrumentation ranging from the ground to space. After 50 years, this meeting will also be a great opportunity to discuss future direction of this series of optical meetings.

The meeting will be held at Stockholm University. Click here for a preliminary meeting outline.

Meeting topics include:

  • New developments in optical instrumentation from the ground, space and other platforms.
  • Optical science from the troposphere to the thermosphere/ionosphere, including
    - atmospheric composition, aerosols and clouds
    - airglow
    - aurora
    - noctilucent clouds
    - meteors
    - sprites, jets etc.
  • Optical calibration techniques.
  • Analysis techniques.
  • Optical atmospheric measurements in education.

Confirmed invited speakers:

  • Alv Egeland (University of Oslo)
  • Léo Bosse (Royal Belgian Institute for Space Aeronomy)
  • Lisa Baddeley (The University Centre in Svalbard)
  • María Passas Varo (Instituto Astrofísica Andalucía, Granada)
  • Mike Taylor (Utah State University)
  • Santiago Arellano (Chalmers University of Technology)
  • Sivert Bakken (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
  • Sota Nanjo (University of Electro-Communications, Tokyo)
  • Supriya Chakrabarti (University of Massachusetts)
  • Thomas Ulich (Sodankylä Geophysical Observatory)
  • Ulrich Platt (Heidelberg University)
  • Urban Brändström (Swedish Institute of Space Physics)


We particularly welcome young scientists that are new to optical atmospheric measurements. To this end, the meeting will also include general tutorials.

  • Ulrich Platt - Towards the “Ideal Spectrograph” for atmospheric observations 
  • John Meriwether - Thermospheric dynamics measurements with a Fabry-Perot interferometer
  • Urban Brändström - Absolute calibration of narrow-band imagers 


Abstract submission is now closed. If you need to update your abstract, please contact Jörg Gumbel (gumbel@misu.su.se).


Registration is now open. In order to register, simply send an e-mail with the following information to gumbel@misu.su.se, at latest on July 15:
- name
- affiliation
- anticipated day of arrival
- anticipated day of departure
- are you student or Ph.D. student?
- any other relevant information

Our webpage for the payment of the registration fee is delayed, unfortunately. We will send a link to the payment webpage later, after your registration by e-mail. We are sorry for this inconvenience.

The registration fee is SEK 3500 for ordinary participants and SEK 1500 for students and Ph.D. students. The registration fee covers lunches, coffee breaks, two dinners, an excursion, and local transportation


Participants should book hotel rooms on their own. In order to facilitate this, we have pre-booked  2x25 rooms in two hotels. Note that these rooms are available for booking only until July 19:

We will provide detailed information about the local logistics. From the above hotels, the university can easily be reached by subway or bus, respectively. There are no hotels in the direct vicinity of the university, unfortunately.

Calibration Workshop:

As at earlier Optical Meetings, there is an opportunity for an inter-calibration workshop of light sources. Please let us know if you are interested.



Scientific programme Committee:

Lisa Baddeley, Jörg Gumbel, Donal Murtagh, Dan Whiter

Local Organizing Committee:

Jörg Gumbel, Nickolay Ivchenko, Linda Megner, Donal Murtagh, Jacek Stegman

On this page