The Department of Statistics has around 40 employees, who are researchers, teachers and technical and administrative staff.

The Department is led by a Head of department. The management also consists of a Deputy head of department, a Director of undergraduate and master´s studies, a Director of PhD studies and a Head of administration.

Head of department

Michael Carlson
Senior lecturer

Deputy head of department

Mattias Villani

Director of undergraduate and master´s studies

Jessica Franzén
Senior lecturer

Director of PhD studies

Tatjana von Rosen
Associate professor

Head of administration

Richard Hager


The Department board

The Department board is the highest decision-making body at the Department of Statistics. The Board is chaired by the Head of department and includes elected representatives. The Board meets 4-5 times per semester.

Department board composition 2021-2023

Michael Carlson, chair
Ellinor Fackle Fornius
Jessica Franzén
Gebrenegus Ghilagaber
Hina Gohar (student representative)
Richard Hager
Frank Miller
Oscar Oelrich (student representative)
Linda Ren (student representative)
Mattias Villani
Tatjana von Rosen

Alternate members

Raul Cano
Oskar Gustafsson (student representative)
Dan Hedlin
Håkan Slättman

On this page