The Department of Sociology is overseen by a board. The board is chaired by the Head of department and decides on strategic and policy matters, curricula’s and course literature.

The executive responsibility for the work at the department is carried out by the Head of the Department (Magnus Bygren) and the Deputy Head of the Department (Anna Lund). The Head of the Department is assisted by, the administrative manager (Thomas Nordgren), the director of studies for undergraduate and master level (Peter Åkerbäck), the director of graduate studies (Sunnee Billingsley) and the assistant director of studies of undergraduate and master level (Anna Borén) and the assistant director of studies at undergraduate, master and PhD level (Anna-Carin Haag).

The Department board makes decisions on strategic matters, operational guidelines, course syllabi, course readings, admission of PhD students, and appointments of permanent staff.

The Department board meets once a month.



Magnus Bygren (Chair)
Anna Lund (Vice-chairman)


Anna-Carin Haag

Faculty representatives

Daniel Ritter
Eleonora Mussino
Kieron Barclay
Livia Oláh
Siddartha Aradhya
Stefanie Möllborn
Andrea Voyer (deputy)
Linda Kridahl (deputy)
Ben Wilson(deputy)

Representatives of administrative and technical staff

Anna Borén
Saemundur Grettisson (deputy)

Representatives of related research institutes (SCORE, SOFI)

Erik Bihagen
Charlotta Magnusson(deputy)

Doctoral students representatives

Maxim Kan
Wooseong Kim (deputy)

Undergraduate student representatives

Ella Björnsdotter
Isabel Hylin
Nellie Lundgren (deputy) 

On this page