Attendees: Ragnar Elmgren (chairman), Birgitta Bergman, Jonas Ebbesson, Tina Elfwing, Carl Folke, Christoph Humborg, Michael McLachlan. Co-opted: Anders Karlhede, Nastassja Åstrand Capetillo.

It was decided that minutes of the steering group meetings should from now on be published on the homepage. 
The former steering group member Lena Kautsky was thanked for her appreciated work. She has retired from the steering group and has been replaced by Tina Elfwing – SMFs new supervisor. 
The Dean, Anders Karlhede, informed about the plans for a Stockholm University Baltic Sea Centre at the Faculty of Science.

Funding and positions

  • Jonas Ebbesson reported that his project with Annika K. Nilsson has established collaborations in Poland and Denmark, and has on-going discussions with scientists Estonia.
  • Funding to Gia Destouni and Elena Gorokhova was approved to be used more freely.
  • Monika Winder will employ Olle Hjerne as a researcher in her BEAM project.
  • Filippa Fransner is a new PhD in Markus Meiers BEAM project.

Communicative efforts

The work of the taskforce and BEAM communication team during the past months was summarized and aPDF:  BEAM Overview 2012 (717 Kb) was handed out, which describe the activities so far 2012. An article on BEAMpublished by the major Swedish daily newspaper Svenska Dagbladet on 19 August was shown to the steering group. Read the article on page 5.

Network Coordinator Thorsten Blenckner has initiated work on a Mid-Term Science plan which will provide an operational framework of BEAM during its final years and include visions and goals for 2014. It will be further discussed on the annual meeting 26 November.

2012 Reporting

Work with the yearly SFO-survey (strategic research areas) will start soon, minor new parts have been added or changed, but it will be similar to the 2011-year report. The survey will also be discussed at the annual meeting.