The Department of Education has approximately 170 employees, consisting of researchers, teachers and technical and administrative staff.


Management of the department

The department is led by the head of department, deputy head of department and the department board (IS). The management team is responsible for the management of the ongoing work, which in addition to the head of department and deputy head of department, includes the administrative head, deputy administrative head as well as directors of studies.

For each programme, there is a programme co-ordinator with special responsibility.

There is a head of education for The National School Leadership Training Programme and a director for the Centre for the Advancement of University Teaching (CeUL).

The department's research is organized in different research areas that include different research groups, to which our doctoral students are also attached.

Head of Department

Carina Carlhed Ydhag

Deputy Head of Department

Matilda Wiklund

Head of Administration

Claudia Hakanen


The Departmental Board is lead by the Head of the Department (chairperson) and the Vice Chairperson (Deputy Head of the Department). The board members represent the various categories of personnel: faculty members/researchers and administrative staff. The board also contains student representatives who are elected by the doctoral student council and the student union.

Departmental board members

From 2024-01-01 – 2026-12-31.

Leading members
Head of the Department Carina Carlhed Ydhag
Deputy Head of the Department Matilda Wilklund

Faculty and researcher members
Camilla Thunborg
Åsa Sundelin
Larissa Mickwitz
Susanne Kreitz-Sandberg
Pelle Pelters
Mikael Persson
Tobias Malm

Alternate members - faculty/researchers
Gunilla Avby
Eva Eliasson
Stefan Lund
Staffan Nilsson

Administrative staff member
Eva Ahlzén
Marcus Bigert

Alternate members - administrative staff
Martin Rogberg
Linnea Tillenius

Student representatives (elected annually)
Viktoria Rubin (PhD student representative)
Blanka Rósa (alternate PhD student representative)


You can contact the departmental board through departmental secretary Eva Olsson.



Telephone and e-mail
Phone: +468162000 (switchboard)
Email education:
Email address for all staff at the Department: first

Visiting address
Frescativägen 54, Frescati, Stockholm
Frescativägen 50, (taxi)

Stockholms university
Department of Education

On this page