Operations at the Department of Law are led by the head of department, who is supported by the deputy head of department, the head of administration, several directors of studies and the Department Board. The Board is the link between the Department and the Faculty of Law.

Fasadbild på en del av Södra huset

The Faculty of Law has a single department - the Department of Law. Together, the faculty and the department are often called Juridicum in Swedish, or SULaw in English.

It is at the Department of Law that the operational activities - research and education - are conducted within the framework specified by the Faculty. The faculty decides, among other things, on study plans, course plans and the recruitment of permanent teachers, as well as responses to referrals.

The department is headed by a head of department, who is chairman of the Department Board, and a deputy head of department. The head of department directs and allocates departmental work. Following decisions from the University Board, the head of department is responsible for the budget as well as the Department’s organisation and staff. The department has a head of administration who is responsible for all administrative staff and for the department's administrative processes.

The department has eleven institutes and centers as well as eight foundations.

More information about the organisation of the Faculty of Law can be found of the Faculty's own web page:

Organisation at the Faculty of Law


Department management

Head of department: Gustaf Sjöberg

Deputy head of department: Björn Lundqvist

Head of administration: Vladimir Vesovic

Academic director of undergraduate studies: Per Ahlin

Academic director of master studies: Annelie Gunnerstad

Administrative director of undergraduate studies: Viktoria Petterson

Academic director of doctoral studies: Jaan Paju

Academic director of international affairs: Laura Carlson

Manager of the Office of International Affairs: Sandra Fagerlund


The Department Board (Institutionsstyrelse) is the department's highest decision-making body. It decides on financial resources and budget as well as on guidelines of fundamental importance with regard to e.g teaching and examination.

The Department Board is led by the head of department (chairman) or deputy head of department (vice chairman). The Board's members represent all categories staff, namely teachers/researchers and technical/administrative staff. The Board also includes student representatives from undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

Members Deputies
Gustaf Sjöberg (head of department) Stanley Greenstein
Björn Lundqvist (deputy head of department) Jarna Petman
Claes Granmar Erik Sinander
Jérome Monsenego Catrinel Florea
Per Jonas Nordell Roger Nilsson
Christina Ramberg  
Johan Sandstedt  
Annika Suominen  
Mia Lundgren  
Jenny Nyman Hök  


Student representatives  Deputies
Marie Kagrell, PhD student Julia Dahlqvist, PhD student
Elin Englund, UG law student Ellen Gustafsson Björverud, UG law student
Dosti Tuana, UG law student Evelina Siska, UG law student


Secretary of the Board
Daniel Larsson

Courses and programmes

Courses within the law program are led by course directors, and the planning for all courses and degree projects within a specific law area are further coordinated by a single subject-specific supervisor. The master's programmes are led by programme directors and have course directors for each of the courses in the programmes.

Registrar's Office

The Registrar's Office consists of the director of studies, study guidance councellors and the student office. The Registrar's Offce is responsible for providing general information and guidance on courses and programmes in Swedish at the Department of Law.

Office of International Affairs

The Office of International Affairs is responsible for the administration of the department's student exchange activities and the administration of the international master's programmes.

Doctoral Student Council

SULaw's doctoral student council monitors doctoral student issues at its own faculty/department and represents the doctoral students in the faculty/department's committees and boards. The council consists of doctoral students at the department who are elected in May and take office in September each year.

Staff and economy

The department has an administrative manager who is the head of the administrative staff and is responsible for the department's administrative processes. The handling of financial and personnel matters for the entire department is handled by the administrative manager, together with the department's financial and personnel officers.


Institutes, centres and foundations

Fru Justitia intill lagböcker och domarklubba
Foto: Andrey popov

One of the strengths of the Faculty of Law is its many institutes and centers, which gather some of the leading researchers in their respective fields of law.

Juridicum also has several foundations, several of which publish renowned journals and publications.

See our institutes, centres and foundations

On this page